Presidents' Welcome

Dear Delegates,

It is with great pleasure that we welcome you to the Sixth Mediterranean Emergency Medicine Congress (MEMC VI) on the island of Kos, Greece. This biennial conference represents a successful collaboration between the European Society for Emergency Medicine (EuSEM), the American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) and, this year, the Hellenic Society for Emergency Medicine (HeSEM).

You will recall the remarkable success of our prior conferences in Stresa, Italy; Sitges, Spain; Nice, France; Sorrento, Italy and Valencia, Spain. The number of attendees and represented nations has grown. We anticipate that nearly 2,000 emergency medicine specialists representing more than 75 countries will converge on Kos.

We have always targeted the Mediterranean basin. This year we have chosen Greece and the island of Kos, home to the Greek physician Hippocrates, considered as the founder of Western medicine. In the center of the town of Kos one can find the Plane Tree, under which Hippocrates is supposed to have taught. The ruins of the famous "Asklepion", the sanctuary of the God of medicine Asklepios, are also found in the island.

In addition to its vast history, Kos is home to white sand beaches, crystal blue waters, hot springs, and mountains to be explored by auto, bicycle, or on foot. The harbor serves as a central point for boat tours to other nearby Greek Islands. It is the quintessential location for education and vacation!

This collaboration between AAEM, EuSEM and HeSEM promotes the specialty of Emergency Medicine and offers a wonderful opportunity for academic and scientific exchange. We have invited world-class speakers, researchers, and educators who will give outstanding lectures, discuss clinical cases, and moderate several hundred abstract and poster presentations. We invite you to contribute to the success of the conference by sharing research findings and by ensuring that you attend and participate in the wide range of scientific sessions and social events.


Abdel Bellou, EuSEM President
Howard Blumstein, AAEM President
Panayotis Agouridakis, HeSEM President