Opening Ceremony

A History of MEMC

Sunday, 11 September 2011
17:30 - 22:00
Hippocrates, Congress Centre

16:45 - 17:15 Load buses for Askleipion
17:30 - 18:15 Hippocratic Oath Ceremony
Please note: The Admission and Ceremony is offered complimentary by the Municipality of Kos
18:30 - 18:45 Load buses for KICC
19:00 - 19:05 Welcome from the Vice Mayor of Kos
Yiannis Balalis
19:05 - 19:15 Welcome from Three Society Presidents
Abdel Bellou
EuSEM President

Howard Blumstein
AAEM President

Panayotis Agouridakis
HeSEM President
19:15 - 19:45 Introduction and Presentation of Top 3 Abstracts
Introduction by Gary Gaddis, Research Forum Chair, AAEM

Ramakrishnan Venkatakrishnan
"Comparison of Propofol/Fentanyl Vs Ketamine/Midazolam for Procedural Sedation & Analgesia in Emergency Department"

Scott Weiner
"Single-Operator Ultrasound-Guided IV Placement by Emergency Nurses"

Carlo Locatelli
"Acute Pneumonia after Accidental Fuel Ingestion in Adults: A Prospective Study"
19:45 - 19:55 Address from MEMC Founders

Francesco Della Corte

Antoine Kazzi

Roberta Petrino
19:55 - 20:00 Presentation of Founders' Award to 3 Founders

Abdel Bellou
EuSEM President

Howard Blumstein
AAEM President
20:00 - 20:25 Keynote Address

Dr. Stefanos Geroulanos
Professor of Surgery and Emergency Medicine
President of the International Hippocratic Foundation
20:25 - 20:30 Presentation of Falck Foundation Awards, JEM Awards

Dr. Jan Christiaen
President, Falck Foundation

Dr. Stephen R. Hayden
Editor, Journal of Emergency Medicine
20:30 - 22:00 Opening Reception in the Pool Area of the Sol Kipriotis
Cocktails and Hors D'Oeuvres will be served. Entertainment will be Traditional Folk Dances